HAMBLETON athletes led the way at the North Yorkshire Cross Country finals in Dalby Forest.

Martha Sigsworth (Year 3 girls), Campbell Darcy (Year 5 boys), Zoe Hill (Year 5 girls) and Alexander Phillips (Post-16 1200m) all crossed the line first for the district.

Other winners on a day that attracted 600 participants to the North Yorkshire Sport-organised event were York’s Miles Watson (Year 3 boys), Scarborough’s Ben Cross (Year 4 boys), Craven’s Phoebe Midgley (Year 4 girls) and Sam Benson (Year 6 boys), and Ryedale & Whitby’s Issy Nichols.

Pupils from special schools The Woodlands Academy and The Dales, aged between 11 to 18, also competed, with Scarborough trio Harry Richardson (KS 3-4 1000m), Dale Welbourne (1200m) and Dylan Wilkin (1500m) taking the honours.

The hilly course saw races of 1,000, 1,200 and 1500 metres. North Yorkshire Sport chief executive David Watson said: "The day went fantastically. The course was challenging but all the young athletes did a brilliant job.

“I was pleased to see so many young runners get excited for the event and get to visit Dalby Forest.

"I would like to congratulate all of our medal winners, as well as the staff and volunteers who helped to organise the event".

Tanya Rex, recreation and public affairs manager for the Yorkshire Forest District, added: “The Forestry Commission were delighted to host the event at Dalby. We have received excellent feedback on the setting which appeared to suit the event perfectly.

Full results

Boys Year 3: 1 Miles Watson (York), 2 Jack Vesey (Richmondshire), 3 Samuel Dickinson (Selby); Girls Year 3: 1 Martha Sigsworth (Hambleton), 2 Chantal Levey (Selby), 3 Elena Dickson (Harrogate); Boys Year 4: 1 Ben Cross (Scarborough), 2 Isaac Breckons (York), 3 Johannes Shaw (Harrogate); Girls Year 4: 1 Phoebe Midgley (Craven), 2 Kathryn Clague (York), 3 Seren Melling (Hambleton); Boys Year 5: 1 Campbell Darcy (Hambleton), 2 Joshua Hammet (Richmondshire), 3 Zachary Towse (York); Girls Year 5: Zoe Hill (Hambleton), 2 Anya Potter-Firth (Ryedale & Whitby), 3 Mollie Reynolds-Jones (Harrogate); Boys Year 6: 1 Sam Benson (Craven), 2 Kieran Robson (Scarborough), 3 Jack Hastings-Long (Hambleton); Girls Year 6: 1 Issy Nichols (Ryedale & Whitby), 2 Tierney Walsh (Ryedale & Whitby), 3 Beth Roberts (Craven); KS 3-4 Specials 1000m: 1 Harry Richardson (Scarborough), 2 Luke Andrews (Scarborough); KS 3-4 Specials 1200m: 1 Dale Welbourne (Scarborough), 2 Chris Richardson (Scarborough); Post-16 1200m: 1 Alexander Phillips (Hambleton), 2 Laurence Stirke (Hambleton), 3 Bethany Siddal (Hambleton); KS 3-4 Specials 1500m: 1 Dylan Wilkin (Scarborough), 2 Jack Vesey (Scarborough), 3 Samuel Dickinson (Scarborough).