THE first batch of candidates have been announced for next month’s General Election.

Those standing so far for the Thirsk and Malton constituency are the current MP Kevin Hollinrake for the Conservatives, Aleshea Westwood for the Brexit Party, Martin Brampton for The Green Party, Di Keal for the Liberal Democrats and John Hall for the Yorkshire Party.

At the last general election in 2017, Mr Hollinrake was re-elected with nearly 60 per cent of the vote, securing 33,572 votes out of 56,025 in the constituency. Labour candidate Alan Avery secured second place with 14,571, an increase on the 2015 election.

The last day to register to vote for the December 12 election and the deadline for postal vote applications are both Tuesday, November 26.

Postal vote applications will close at 5pm and applications to register to vote will be open until midnight.

Ryedale District Council’s returning officer and deputy returning officer are offering election candidates and agents a briefing ahead of the start of the formal parliamentary general election process on Thursday, November 7, at 5pm, at Ryedale House. It will outline the election timetable and explain the nomination process and arrangements for postal vote opening, polling day and the count. Confirmation of attendance is requested by email to or phone 01653 600666.