Rose Ayling-Ellis has been named inspirational person of the year at the Visionary Honours Awards following her momentous Strictly appearance. 

The Eastenders actress was presented with the award by businessman and The Apprentice winner Tim Campbell on March 1.

The Visionary Honours Awards, hosted by Lenny Henry, are now in their third year.

The awards celebrate artists, creatives and community leaders who have inspired social change through the arts and their platforms over the past 18 months.

Rose Ayling-Ellis named inspiration person of the year

Unsurprisingly, Rose has been recognised for her contribution after the 27-year-old appeared as the BBC show's first-ever deaf contestant last year.

Rose and her partner Giovanni Pernice were crowned Strictly champions following their unforgettable contemporary routine which featured 10 seconds of complete silence.

The actress is also an advocate for British Sign Language becoming a legally recognised language.

11 recipients were honoured during the awards and there were also performances by poet Sophia Thakur and singer Ella Henderson.

Other notable winners include British actress and screenwriter Michaela Coel with an outstanding achievement award and Russell T Davies’ It’s a Sin for television show of the year.

Sir Trevor McDonald was awarded the legacy honour, presented to him by Sir Lenny and the film of the year was Everybody's Talking About Jamie.

Adrian Grant, the founder of Visionary Honours, said: “I’m delighted to reveal the deserving winners of the Visionary Honours Awards for 2022.

“I want to thank Sir Lenny Henry for being the host for this year’s awards but also the other presenters, who were tremendous.”

Mr Grant added: “Congratulations to the truly inspiring individuals who we have celebrated tonight – it has been amazing!”

Visionary Honours Awards winners for 2022

Here are the full winners of the Visionary Honours Awards for 2022:

1. Book Of The Year – Maybe I Don’t Belong Here (David Harewood)

2. Podcast Of The Year – Extraordinary People (Katie Piper)

3. Play/Musical Of The Year – Death of England: Delroy (Clint Dyer and Roy Williams)

4. Documentary Of The Year – Leigh-Anne: Race, Pop & Power (Kadise Abiola and Tash Gaunt)

5. Television Show Of The Year – It’s A Sin (Russell T. Davies)

6. Film Of The Year – Everybody’s Talking About Jamie (Tom MacCrae and Jamie Campbell)

7. Song Of The Year – Peng Black Girls (Enny)

8. Community Person Of The Year – Sabah Ahmedi

9. Outstanding Achievement Award – Michaela Coel

10. Inspirational Person of the Year – Rose Ayling-Ellis

11. Legacy Honour – Sir Trevor McDonald