THE finals season at York Indoor Bowls Club started in excellent fashion with a host of exciting matches.

The men’s knockout triples final featured six players who recently figured in York’s successful Denny Cup team which won the Yorkshire League and Challenge Cup double.

Dave Stroughair, Paul Humphreys and Graham Brooke took on John Walker, Dave Attwood and Alan Vowles, with Stroughair’s team winning on an extra end.

With two ends to play Stroughair’s team had what looked like an unassailable lead at 15-10, but a two then remarkably a three on the last took the game into an extra end.

Helen Walker, Emily Clarke and Laura Clarke retained the women’s knockout triples title.

The holders led 16-10 with three ends to play but they were left shocked when Pat Bracken, Maureen Robinson and Sue Jeffrey hit back with a six then a single to have a one shot advantage going into the last end.

However, last year’s winners got a two to keep the crown.

Ken Robinson, Dave Stolting and Ann Sharpley looked to be on course for an easy victory in the Gordon Little Trophy final as they led 10-4 with seven ends to play.

However, a run of five winning ends brought Pat Bracken, Lynn Tattersall and Alan Potter level at 10-10 only to drop a single, but a three on the last sealed a great comeback and the title.

In the men’s Simpson Pairs, Mick Parker partnered Malcolm Harrison with normal partner Adam Liddell unavailable, against Malcolm Thompson and Ray Calpin.

Thompson and Calpin were 9-2 up after four ends, but Parker and Harrison hit back to lead briefly before they were tied 14-14 after 13 ends.

Parker and Harrison then forged ahead 21-14 with two ends to play and Calpin and Thompson eventually lost 21-20.

The Ladies Langford Pairs looked to be a one-sided affair as Melanie Brooke and June Clayton led 15-5 with six ends to play but with two to go the score stood at 15-14 as Carol Instone and Joan Jackson made a great effort but it wasn’t to be as Brooke and Clayton finished with a two then a single to win 18-14.

The women’s knockout fours final was living up to expectations at 8-6 in favour of Linda Harrison, Betty Richardson, Helen Wood and Carol Banks, who was substitute for Sue Tomlinson, against last year’s winners Helen Walker, Zoe Eagles, Emily and Laura Clarke.

However, a run of five winning ends yielding a massive 14 shots and Wood’s team won 22-7.

Adam Liddell continued his excellent year by taking the men’s singles and the under-25s singles titles in the space of two days.

In the men’s event he beat England U25s international trialist Dave Attwood 21-15 and the U25s final went his way as he triumphed 21-8 over Zoe Eagles.

Eagles got back to winning ways two days later when she won the women’s singles for the fourth year running, beating Emily Clarke 21-17.

Joan Jackson won the over-55s singles title for the first time as she overcame Pat Bracken 21-13.

Ray Calpin took the vets’ singles for the second time in three years. After trailing 9-8 to Graham Brooke, he won six ends on the trot to triumph 21-9.

Dave Stolting, who only took up the game last August, made his third final appearance of the season in the vets’ plate against Bob Elliot.

Stolting overcame a 14-10 deficit by winning six successive ends to take the title 21-14.

Neil MacDonald gained revenge for his defeat to Naomi King last year in the U15s singles by beating her 15-9.

Graham Brooke overcame his disappointment of losing the vets singles earlier in the day by winning all but five ends to beat Chris Bishop 21-7 in the men’s singles plate.

Laura Clarke succeeded sister Emily as the U18s singles winner after beating fellow England U18s international Hayley MacDonald 21-16.

The mixed fours play-off final between June Clayton’s team and Eric Hodgson’s side will be held at Thanet Road tonight.

The women’s Simpson Pairs final between Melanie Brooke and Helen Wood will also be staged.

Both matches start at 6.30pm.

On Sunday at noon, the mixed knockout pairs final sees Mark Clarke and Helen Walker take on Graham and Melanie Brooke.

The league play-off finals take place next Monday and Tuesday, with Wednesday as a reserve day. All matches start at 6.30pm.