Heworth 'A' extended their lead at the top of the York Conservative Clubs' Carlsberg UK Snooker League with a 6-1 win over Fulford 'B'.

Successes by Kevin Gall, Jason Miller, Brian Shipley, Richie Burdett and Steve Burdett secured the victory before Fulford's Arther Pegden gained a surprise point by beating Clive Whyte. Malcolm Dawson made it 6-1 for Heworth.

Fulford 'A' moved into second spot by winning 4-3 against Heworth 'B', but trail the league leaders by nine points.

Glen Mountain (33 break), Wayne Puleston, Wayne Hartley and Jeff Brown won the first four frames before Chris Thompson, Dave Birch and Tony Tennyson made the result more respectable. Heworth 'B' are level on points with Fulford 'A' but have one less win.

Bootham 'A' moved up to fourth place with a 6-1 success against Acomb 'B', who have yet to record a win this season. Peter Walker, Ken Taylor, Nick Parker, Barry Rankin (26, 33) unfinished breaks, Colin Robinson and Brian Coulson won for Bootham and John Ashwell gained Acomb's sole point.

Bootham 'B' failed to move up despite a 4-3 victory at Acomb 'A'. Their winners were John Wortley, Tony Lambert, Tim Fillingham and George Long against replies from Peter Lawson, Keith Myers and Adrian Barraclough.

Only four players now have 100 per cent records in the Willsden Steel Player of the Year competition after just five matches. They are Jason Milner (H), Glen Mountain (F), Arther Pegden (F) and Chris Thompson (H).

Neil Wood (H) continues to lead in the North Wolds Printers Highest Break contest with his 57 break. Richard Stroughair (F) is second with a 53 break.

Updated: 11:22 Friday, November 25, 2005