YORK Acorn Rugby League Club first team second rower Dave Norman scooped the players' player of the year award at their end of season presentation awards ceremony.

The awards were handed out by the Castleford Tigers Super League duo of loose-forward Ryan Hudson and prop Andy Lynch.

Michael Hagen picked up the Man of Steel title, Lee Frank won the coaches player of the year award, Kevin Brundrett was the most improved, while Paul Day took the impact player title.

For services to the Acorn Club, Billy Blackburn was awarded the Donald Shepherd Award whilst his wife Gill received the Lady Of The Year Award.

On the same evening both the 'A' team and the Under-18s had their awards handed out with the winners being as follows -

'A' team: Most improved, Tom Galloway; Man of Steel (the Andy Cowl trophy), Adam Endersby; coaches player of the year, Alex Cowton; players' player of the year, Tom Galloway.

Under-18s: Clubman of the year, Andy Gargan; most improved player of the year, Kyle Palmer; Man of Steel (the Mike Kirby award), Chris Spain; coaches player of the year, Marc Dawson; players' player of the year, Andy Henson.

Updated: 11:17 Tuesday, May 20, 2003