THIS is the leading group of councillors trusted with running York for the next four years.

Drawn from City of York Council's ruling Liberal Democrat group, the nine members are known as the council's executive.

The executive's role is to make council policy and provide leadership.

The executive's full line-up is:

Steve Galloway, leader, community safety and economic


Andrew Waller, deputy leader and environment and sustainability

Sue Galloway, social services and health

Quentin Macdonald, resources.

Keith Orrell, leisure and heritage

Ann Reid, planning and transport

Carol Runciman, education

Sue Sunderland, housing.

Updated: 09:19 Wednesday, May 21, 2003