BARRY Petty was named the Hunters York and District Senior Cricket League top bowler for 2003 at the annual dinner.

The Thirsk pace ace took 68 premier division wickets at a strike rate of 15.1 and was awarded the Alan Shipley Secretary's Cup at York Racecourse.

Dunnington's Hamid Khan won the batting honours after hitting 972 top-flight runs at an average of 64.8 to lift the Des Wyrill Trophy.

The Brian Shirley Trophy for the premier division's top wicket-keeper was shared by Woodhouse Grange's Mike Burdett (23 catches and six stumpings) and Dunnington's Paul Miles (21 catches and eight stumpings).

Just under 500 people attended the event with former England batsman Robin Smith the guest speaker.

League secretary Albert Pattison also announced that estate agents Hunters have agreed to sponsor the league for another two seasons.

"We are delighted that Hunters are keen to continue the sponsorship after three very rewarding years," Pattison said. "Many of the company's directors are active cricketers within the league and consequently understand our needs.

"Hunters have been extremely supportive over the past three years and I am sure this will continue for a further three years and, hopefully, way beyond."

Prizewinners for 2003

League champions: Thirsk & District Trophy - Dunnington.

Premier Div, runners-up: Costcutter Trophy - Acomb.

Div 1: Winners: Gilmour & Dean Trophy - Sheriff Hutton Bridge; Runners-up: Double Diamond Trophy - York.

Div 2: Winners: Rowntree Trophy - Hornsea; Runners-up: J G Ezart Shield - Malton & Old Malton.

Div 3: Winners: York & Ainsty Builders Trophy - Hemingbrough; Runners-up: Eric Horton Memorial Trophy - Hovingham.

Div 3: Winners: T H Hobson Cup - Acomb II; Runners-up: no trophy - Malton & Old Malton II.

Div 5: Winners: Robson & Cooper Trophy - Pocklington II; Runners-up: no trophy - Selby.

Div 6: Winners: The Clifton Park Trophy - York III; Runners-up: no trophy - Bolton Percy II.

League Cup: Winners: York Premier KO Trophy - Dunnington; Runners-up: Mike Couldwell Trophy - Woodhouse Grange; MOM: Ian Reed Memorial Trophy - Kamran Sajid (Woodhouse Grange).

Readman Trophy: Winners: Edward Readman Memorial Trophy - York; Runners-up: no trophy - Whitkirk; MOM: Redman Award - Sean Hunter (York).

York Senior League Champions Challenge: Dunnington (2002).

Most Sporting Club, Prem Div: Winners: York Umpires' Sportsmanship Cup - Dunnington. Div 1 Winners: York Umpires Sportsmanship Trophy - Hull Zingari. Div 2 Winners: The Hindwell Shield - Studley Royal.

Most Improved Club: Albert Pattison Trophy - Studley Royal.

Best Young Player: Bill Pool Memorial Trophy - Richard Bentley (Thirsk).

Premier Div, Batting: Des Wyrill Trophy - Hamid Khan (Dunnington).

Premier Div, Bowling: Alan Shipley Secretary's Cup - Barry Petty (Thirsk).

Premier Div, Wicketkeeper: Brian Shirley Trophy - Mike Burdett (Woodhouse Grange), Paul Miles (Dunnington).

Most Stumpings: Doug Mackay Trophy - Mark Fenton (Dringhouses).

Best Overseas Player: Tony Frith Trophy - Kamran Sajid (Woodhouse Grange).

Best Scorer: Malcolm Ripley Trophy - tba.

Best Representative Player: Lol Morse Memorial Trophy - Andy Tute (Acomb).

Indoor Cricket

Div 1: Winners, Recticel-Sutcliffe Shield - Acomb 'A'.

Div 2: Winners, Costcutter Indoor Trophy - Osbaldwick.

KO Cup: Winners,York Brewery Trophy - Acomb 'A'.

Merit table: Winners, Stamford Bridge.

Best Marked Ground - Overall: Harrogate (Square), Harrogate (outfield).

Most Improved Ground: Londesbrough Park.

Yorkshire Inter League Knockout Competition: Winners - Hunters York & District Senior League.

Leeds Area Cricket Council Knockout Competition: Winners - Hunters York & District Senior League.

Joe Lumb Competition: Runners-up - Hunters York & District Senior League.

Updated: 12:34 Monday, October 20, 2003