SANDRA Bruce closed on 132 (treble 20s, double 6) but it came too late for York John Smith's Ladies' League division one team Independent, whose opponents Cygnet 'A' had already secured victory with Dawn Exton (24), Wendy Smith (80 check) and Angie Smith all being double ton scorers.

Anne Smith closed with 108 shanghai on 18s to save Holgate's blushes as Cueball B's Angie Hields finished on 86 and Carole Pipes gamed in 23.

Cueball 'C' with good scoring from Sue Tate beat Dringhouses 6-3. Carol Perrett and Diane Moreland steered Phoenix to the same scoreline against Clifton 'A'.

Roz Kerr included 2x100 for 23 and Michelle Britton closed on a two-dart 70 for 20 in the pairs with Karen Richardson as Cygnet 'C' lowered Flag.

In division two, Angie Blackmore-Debbie Benson won the decider for Clifton 'B' against Britannia. Cygnet 'B' and Leeman 'B' were all square entering the pairs which the latter secured.

Sun held a resounding 4-0 lead at Burton WMC, who hit back hard, Val Pinder-Julie Bruce combining to draw the teams level before Sun's Chris and Sally Swales rose to the challenge.

Slipper's Doreen Johnstone hit a maximum to put them 4-2 up against Tang Hall Club, who bounced back strongly, Barbara Ward-Mavis Rawcliffe winning the decider.

In division three, Shepherd 'A' had Pat Hurst and Angie Read hitting the big scores in their 6-3 result against Blacksmiths. Shepherd 'B' had Sue Lacey slotting in a 74 close and then combining with Diane Clasper to win the decider at Leeman 'A'.

Despite being a player light, Burnholme Club's Marj Pearson won the deciding pairs against Vaults.

Woolpack had their division four tie with newcomers Volunteer 'A' sewn up within the singles, Pat Rice sealing the win.

In the York John Smith's Mixed League, Huntington's Angie Hields gamed in 22 darts, then added a 91 outshot in her pairs to inspire her team to a 9-2 win over Beeswing, while Wendy Smith closed in 23 as Cueball maintained their grip on second.

Chris Bullen-Caroline Walker recorded Vaults only point as Cygnet 'A' made sure of the title with a 8-1 result.

Paul Partridge closed out on 102 for 21 darts, as did Barry Noble for Slipper 'B', but Cygnet 'C's pairing of Lynda Kennelly-John Clemit took the decider.

Chris Thompson recorded legs of 18 and 21 as Sun Inn completed the demolition of Slipper in the York Unique-Phoenix League division one.

Slipper had no answer to Sun's finishing power with Kev Walton closing on 19 and Dave Gibbons adding a brace of 22-darters.

Mark Hartley was in superb form for Phoenix 'A' with a maximum in the team game, and another 180 in his singles as he gamed on 101 for 15 darts, then shot an 18-darter. Phoenix won 6-1 with Glen Brown (20) scoring Alice Hawthorn's only point. Jon O'Mara did well with an 18-darter for Alice.

Hospital Social Club lost their way against Bishopthorpe, whose Arthur Conyers closed on 20 and 21 to wrap up the win. A 180 from Phil Good (22) and Daz Bailey put HSC on the score-sheet, but Tony Raymond clinched the last leg.

A 111 finish from Chas Ramsden helped Shepherd SC to a 1-0 lead, but Acomb battled back by taking the next two. A 19-darter, followed by a 20-darter from Mick Willsden, sealed Shepherd's win.

A 20-darter from Matt Ford ensured Rose & Crown took the win against Cygnet 'A' who were always behind. A 21-darter, then a 127 bull finish from Kev O'Hara for 18, made it 2-2, before Ged McMahon gave R&C the edge. But two 33-darters from Dave O'Hara set up the decider which Ford took.

Cygnet 'B' made it three from three, with a narrow win over Blacksmith's.

Updated: 09:07 Tuesday, October 21, 2003