Sheriff Hutton Bridge clawed their way off the bottom of the Hunters Estate Agent York and District Premier division table after clinging on against Woodhouse Grange.

Grange topped the 200 mark after hitting 222-7 with major contributions from Mike Burdett (59), Nick Hadfield (52) and Simon Dwyer (41).

The Bridge struggled in reply, but thanks to a half-century from skipper Steve Crowder, they could not be bowled out and completed their overs on 142-9 for a valuable six points that lifts them off the bottom of the table.

Leaders Clifton Alliance batted first at Beverley Town in one of two top-of-the-table clashes, where the bowlers were in control. Simon Roe (5-77) and Pete Parnaby (4-47) took out the visitors for 177, Daniel Harris (57) and John Gilham (48) being the chief batsmen for Clifton.

In reply, it took a good team batting effort, led by Jamie Mitchell (51) to knock off the total and record a four-wicket victory.

Acomb and Dunnington went head-to-head in the other top-four encounter. An unbeaten stand of 192 from Sanjaya Rodrigo (124) and Richard Sykes (76) took Acomb to a respectable 259-3. But only Hamid Khan with 44 gave any resistance to Acomb's on-form bowlers Andy Tute (6-44) and David Sykes (4-49), who reduced the visitors to just 117.

A good win for Sessay at close rivals Easingwold keeps them well in touch. Sessay batted first and scored 189-7 with Richard Till scoring 64, M Till 37 and J Flintoff 31, John Marwood taking 5-63. In reply, Easingwold fell well short of the total as Dave Johnson's six-wicket haul, swung the game Sessay's way as they dismissed the home side for 150.

Heworth also gained maximum points with a nine-wicket win over Malton and Old Malton. Malton batted first and scored a decent 196-8 with N Johnson (49) and Darren Wyrill (40) being the chief scorers. Mike Taylor then let rip for Heworth and scored 104 not out. Ably supported by Dave Simpson (55), they demolished the Malton total to win by nine wickets.

The prolific Colin Frank scored a third century of the day for Pickering, in their defeat of Osbaldwick. His 102 not out created an unbeaten stand of 172 with Craig Aconley (93no) for a total of 256-3.

But Osbaldwick's A Hall (32), T Finney (47) and Mick Hammerton (37) just held out to achieve the draw.

Barry Petty took 7-50 for Thirsk at Duncombe Park in a resounding division one win with overseas man Simon Schwerdt hitting 67 of the winning runs.

Leaders Stamford Bridge managed a last-over victory over Pocklington after batting heroics from P Hill (44) and A Milner (75no).

Second-placed Carlton Towers beat York II by seven wickets. York were reduced to a mediocre 158 all out as Ben Lamb took 4-44. In reply, Abhay Sharma (59) and Jamie Pocklington (36no) took up the challenge and led visitors Carlton Towers to maximum points.

Driffield's Ben Chapman was the only division one centurion and his unbeaten 106 took his side to the highest total of the day - 267-7 - against Hemingbrough thanks to the support of M Drury (51) and P Woodcock (63), who put on 108 for the first wicket.

Zubair (50) and Butt (56) took Hemingbrough within shouting distance but C Smith (5-67) and S Brent (3-64) dismissed the visitors 30 runs short to take Driffield above Hemingbrough and into third spot.

Harlon Haye was the star with bat and ball as he scored 47 of Whitkirk's 114 all out against Tadcaster Magnet and took 7-21 in Tadcaster's innings. Unfortunately for Whitkirk his performance was not enough as Tadcaster skipper, P Clark, also put in a good all-round performance, picking up 4-24 and then steering the visitors to victory with an unbeaten 69.

Updated: 11:01 Monday, June 20, 2005