SEVEN-A-SIDE heaven was smartly occupied by Wigginton Grasshoppers Under-11s footballers.

Not only did they win the Thorpe Tournament staged by Thorpe United at Thorpe Willoughby, but in capturing the title they went seven games undefeated, winning six and drawing one.

The team, led by stand-in coach Dave Hopwood in place of coach Steve Holt who was away, topped their group which also featured teams from Real Cliffe, Selby Oympia and the host club.

Five wins and a draw, and the concession of just a solitary strike, propelled Wigginton's wonders into the final where they met Real Cliffe. The duel was tight and tense with the Cliffe goalkeeper making a stunning point-blank save to thwart Wigginton until a free-kick from Grasshoppers' player-of-the-year Jordan Holt settled the clash in the dying minutes.

Selby Olympia won the Plate Trophy for the third and fourth-placed group teams.

TOURNAMENT TOPPERS: Wigginton Grasshoppers Under 11s, back row, from left to right: Ben Unsworth, Damon Vind, Jamie Crane, Tristan Elgina, Matthew Prosser, Jack Thompson, Gareth Yeomans. Front row, from left to right: Jamie Wilstrop, Joe Smith, James Wareham, Jordan Holt (capt), James Hopwood, Matthew Buck. Missing from picture: Joe Schofield.

Updated: 10:31 Wednesday, July 06, 2005