IN the latest edition of our look back through the archives, here are five cricket teams from the past.

Pictured above is Poppleton's 1969 cricket team line-up.

Back row: M Carter, A Robson (captain), M Dobson.

Front row: D Kear, C Armstrong and M Jones.

Next up...

York Press: POPPLETON 1968

POPPLETON 1968: Playing in the York Sunday League, this Poppleton cricket team had defeated Kelfield to avoid relegation.


York Press: PRESIDENT'S XI 1983

PRESIDENT'S XI 1983: Back: M Woodward, R Drury, M Stacey, A Chalmers, G Swinbourne, C Lister, D Jackson. Front: M White (scorer), S Brewster, A Tyler, G Scott, C Padgett.


York Press: SCARCROFT 1949

SCARCROFT 1949: Back: E Kennedy, S Hill, J Eagles, A Graham, D Mosey, J Walford, A Cooper, L Ruddick (captain). Front: W Hodgson, B Fisher, B Kilvington.


York Press: STILLINGFLEET 1979

STILLINGFLEET 1979: Back: P Suffield, D Preston, P Elmhirst, R Livsey, K Castle, D Horn. Front: J Curtis, R Piercy, J Warner, D Brighouse, I Crossland.

Love looking at old pictures from across the York district? Join our Facebook group Why We Love York – Memories