YORK’S unsung heroes were honoured last night at the York Community Pride Awards.

A total of 12 awards were handed out at this year’s York Community Pride Awards, organised by The Press and City of York Council and sponsored by Benenden Health.

More than 280 guests attended the ceremony at York Racecourse.

* Don't miss The Press on Tuesday, October 23 for a souvenir supplement celebrating the award winners.

2018 York Community Pride Roll of Honour

Spirit of Youth - Wes Jobling

Public Sector Hero - Anne Platt

Charity Fundraiser of the Year - Margaret Clark

Child of the Year - Bobbie Coverdale, Daisybella Bond and Leo Sampson

Teacher of the Year - Dee Statham

Volunteer of the Year - Keelie Mollan

Health Service Hero - Lisa Dillon

Sporting Hero - Alan Fletcher

Good Neighbour of the Year - Keith Chapman

Best Community Project - SASH

School of the Year - Burton Green Primary

York Community Pride Person of the Year - Prof Steve Leveson