We have various scenes of city life from the early part of last century for you in the second part of Yesterday Once More this week, courtesy of another trawl through Explore York's wonderful Imagine York archive.

There's not much to link them, apart from the fact that they show different areas of central York in the period between the 1880s and early 1900s.

Our stroll through the city's historic streets includes a lovely view of boys standing in front of Fred Wood's grocer shop at 89 Goodramgate - where the National Trust shop now is. The photograph was taken in about 1910 - so not that long after Deangate was knocked through to link Goodramgate with Minster Yard and Duncombe Place. There are piles of rubble in the background of the photograph, which could conceivably be left over from the construction of Deangate.

Other photographs show the junction of Skeldergate, North Street and Micklegate in the 1880s; an 1890s view across the city's rooftops from the roof of the Co-operative Society Building on Rougier Street, with the spire of All Saints Church on North Street visible on the left and the Guildhall in the centre of the photo; and the view from pavement up Coppergate in about 1907. The new tram lines for the city's new electric trams can be seen lying in the foreground, ready for installation.

In date order, the photographs show:

1. The junction of Micklegate, North Street and Skeldergate in the 1880s. St John's Church dominates the right hand side. The "ghost" figures on the left are caused by the long exposure. The sign on the building on the corner of Skeldergate and Micklegate indicates that it is a "Commercial Eating House"

2. A view across the city from the roof of the Co-operative Society Building on Rougier Street in the 1890s. The spire on the left belongs to All Saints Church on North Street, the Guildhall occupies the centre ground with St Wilfrid's Church behind and the Minster to the right

3. A horse and cart is heading out of the city centre under the railway bridge on Leeman Road, probably in the late 1890s. We wonder what the carter would have made of the plans for Leeman Road today?

4. The view from Pavement looking up Coppergate in about 1907. Lancelot Foster and Sons were agricultural feed merchants at no. 37 Pavement. Next door was T.J. Hooke, a gunsmith. The Market Tavern occupied no. 1 Coppergate. The new tram lines for the electric tram can be seen in the foreground

5. A man walking along the city walls beside Jewbury in the early 1900s. He is standing near tower number 31. In the distance in the centre of the picture is the chimney of Adam's Iron Foundry on Peasholme Green. The church tower belongs to St Cuthbert's. The large chimney on the right belongs to John J. Hunts Ebor Brewery in Aldwark

6. A group of boys standing and playing in front of Fred Wood's grocers shop at 89 Goodramgate. His name can be seen on the handcart. The boy who is crouching may well be playing marbles. The photograph probably dates from 1910

7. Merchantgate in 1935 with the Red Lion Hotel. The tram lines and overhead wires are clearly visible as the street curves into Piccadilly in the foreground. The photo was taken in the final days of York's electric trams: by November of 1935, all the city's tram networks had closed down. Photo by Edwin Lofthouse

All the photos on these pages, and thousands more, are held on Explore York’s Imagine York archive. You can browse it yourself at imagineyork.co.uk/