FIVE Lions captain Michelle Britton led from the front with a 23-dart opening leg – but the York John Smith’s Ladies Darts League division one leaders were beaten 9-2 at rivals Cueball ‘B’.

The Lions roar was silenced as the snooker club side had wins from Tina Platt, Gina Whittaker, Tracey Farmeary, Natalie Farmeary and Jayne Janes to seal victory.

Anne Bass and Muriel Britton closed the gap, but a 26-dart pairs leg from Janes and Natalie Farmeary (140, 100) saw Cueball narrow the gap at the top of the division.

Karen Smith and captain Doreen Johnstone gave Slipper a 2-0 advantage at Tramways, whose Carole Layne and Jo Hodges replied.

However, Anita Adams and Vicky Middleton saw the visitors enter the pairs with a 4-2 lead, then Johnstone and Adams sealed victory.

Smith and Middleton added to their tally as they went home with an 8-3 result.

Marcia won by the same margin at Bootham Con Club, racing into a commanding 4-0 lead thanks to Babs Harrison, Diane Moreland, Sandra Winters and Pat Cairns before Jane Barnes and Jackie Calpin replied.

Marcia’s Moreland was joined by Carol Perrett to secure match points.

Cueball ‘A’ captain Faye Hawksby hit the tons for a 26-dart leg to take the first game at Burnholme, who replied through Caroline Whittaker, Marj Pearson (117, 114), Jane Dobson and Sarah Jackson (140).

Shelagh Kenny narrowed the gap and the snooker club side took the first pairs. Hawksby then combined with Chris Hayward to set up the decider, with Hawksby closing on a two-dart 74. Jackson was joined by Lynne Willstrop to secure match points.

Severus ‘A’ made home advantage count as they beat visitors Acomb, Davina Shannon and Glynnis Simpson sealing victory before Sue Richardson and Sheila Elliott added to their tally.

In division two, Marcia Grey take over in top spot after winning all the pairs at Ox, Tracey Scurr and Anne Allison sealing it.

Edinburgh drop into second place after visitors Severus ‘B’ won a thrilling match 7-4.

Ann Meek, Dot Sellars and Wendy Storr put the club side in the driving seat. However, a stirring reply from Donna Lynes, Anthea Jamieson and Amanda Bevan, then Jan Netherwood and Sam Jamieson, gave Edinburgh the advantage.

Storr and Margaret Formstone set up a decider which saw club colleagues Sarah Thompson and Michelle Kelly snatch match points.

Woolpack were also involved in a nail-biting finish at Leeman.

Tied at 3-3 entering the pairs, Chris Waddington and Janet Nelson edged the home side in front. But Kath Powell and Sharon Nelson levelled, then Sharon Lyons and Chris Patterson secured victory.

Chris and Alice Turgoose secured a last-gasp win for Sun against visitors Turpin, while Jubilee’s Angela Lancaster clinched the points at Green Tree.