THE York & District Schoolboys have honoured their very own ‘history boys’.

The organisation’s end-of-season awards featured a special presentation to six under-15s footballers who have served schoolboy teams for the last five seasons.

The six are Joey McCormick, Liam Neal, Ben Hirst, Matty Mulhearn, Jake Wright and Joe Wales.

They all received a portfolio of every newspaper cutting detailing their schoolboy careers and a photo frame of headlines and photos by manager Tony Wales, pictured above right.

Wales said the This Is Your Schoolboy Life award was created for the six U15s, who are all linked with professional clubs.

The six have already received York Schoolboy ties having been part of the U13s team that won the English Schools’ FA Inter Association Trophy two years ago.

Leeds United teenager Sam Byram, a former York Schoolboys player, attended the presentation night, which celebrated success from U11s to U15s.

The U15s side finished in fourth place in their league, with Sheffield taking the title.

Sheffield also took the U14s championship, with York finishing third having been the only team to topple the winners, recording a 3-0 victory in the steel city.

The U13s were third in their league, with Barnsley coming out on top, while the U12s narrowly lost to Hull in a league title decider and ultimately dropped to third on goal difference.

The U11 side ended the league season three points behind title winners Hull, while the highlight of their campaign came in the seven-aside Danone Nations Cup.

Schoolboys secretary Matt Brown said: “York Schoolboys pride themselves on their team spirit and that was evident when two U11s players who were not selected to play travelled to support their team-mates in the national seven aside tournament in Sunderland and London.

“The seven-a-side team made York Schoolboy history by winning their group at the multi-million pound Barnet training complex, but eventually lost to the Wirral in the last four.”

York & District Schoolboys End of season awards

Under-15s Players’ player - Joey McCormick

Manager’s player - Nial Coulthard

Most valuable player - Ben Hirst

Under-14s Players’ player – Jacob Smith

Manager’s player – Aron Clarke

Most valuable player – Sam Drake

Under-13s Players’ player – Zac Lawrence

Manager’s player – Joe Kilvington

Most valuable player – Adam Precious

Under-12s Players’ player – Cai Gallimore, Jamie O’Connell

Manager’s player – Cai Gallimore

Most valuable player – Dan Hartley

Under-11s Players’ player – Lucas Wilson

Manager’s player – Joe Crosby

Most valuable player – Dan Allinson