FULFORDGATE’S Michelle Britton and Dawn Exton were the first players through in the York John Smith’s Ladies’ Darts League competition, dispatching Marcia landlady and Faye Hawksby in the first round.

The Bishopthorpe pair gamed double eight to win the first leg before ‘Gate’s two got going, winning the second leg as Britton closed double top after her 140 score and Exton’s ton.

A close decider was settled by Britton’s double 12.

Meanwhile, Burton Stone duo Linda Embleton and Katrina Thackray defeated Golden Slipper’s Doreen Johnston and Anita Adams 2-0 in a close contest.

Both pairs missed their finished, before a double seven sealed Stone’s passage.

The board final was a tense affair, with players again missing their chances, before double ones in both legs gave ‘Gate the win.

Burnholme’s Marj Pearson and Caroline Whittaker were board two champions, beating Priory’s Di Moreland and Babs Harrison in the final.

The first leg was won by Burnholme, but a Priory counter set up a 32 check-out. Top-scoring from Whittaker checked out on double ten for the match.

En route to the final, Pearson and Whittaker first disposed of Clifton Hotel’s mother and daughter pairing Alice and Cris Turgoose before seeing off Slipper’s Vicky Sellars and Sue Tate.

Moreland and Harrison had beaten the ‘Gates pairs Muriel Britton - Jill Reed and Lynn Thompson - Alex Exton by a 2-0 margin both times.

Back on board one, top-scoring from all players set the tone for the final between the previous pairs title-holders, Burnholme’s Sarah Jackson and Sharon Neads, and Castle Howard Ox’s Toni Smallwood and Anne Bass.

The Ox pair won the opener, but Jackson and Neads hit back strongly, the former closing on 87 and then checking out on 42 in the decider.

Tramways colleagues Tracey Farmeary and Jayne Janes will also contest the winter finals after wins against the Leeman pair Heather Bulmer and Brenda Dawe, then Jody Hancock and Ann Parkyn of Slipper.

In the board final, they faced Tramways peers Flossie Crampton and Karen Alton, who had progressed via wins over Burnholme’s Lynne Willstop - Jane Dobson and Clifton’s Angela Fletcher – Linda Turgoose.

The first leg of the final was a close contest, before a 25 check-out by Farmeary, who then hit a timely 140 then closed double 16 in the second leg.