RICCALL have become the first team to win promotion in the IT Sports Mixed Tennis League after defeating Appleton Roebuck.

Alex Trembath and Faye Lintott top scored with 26 games in the division eight contest, just ahead of John Lintott and Heather Page.

Rufforth are favourites to finish second, but had a much closer match against Bishopthorpe with unbeaten Dan Russell and Phillipa Page matching the score of team-mates Tom Frame and Carole Withers.

At the top of division one, Poppleton have opened a up a gap again after wins against two teams facing relegation.

Siblings Nick and Rebecca Turnbull lost just four games in both matches and had good support from mother Belinda and Jack Hannah against Heworth and James Silson at Dunnington II.

Adam de Vries and Karen Retief won 27 games for York II to take the points and move into third place after their win at Heworth.

The upcoming clash between leaders Wetherby Castlegarth and second-placed Rufforth be the division two title decider after Tom Warburton and Angela Wood led the former to a comfortable win at Bishopthorpe and Ed Ziegler and Kate Lewis contributed 22 games to the latter’s winning total against Poppleton.

David Lloyd still have promotion hopes after good wins against Poppleton and Bubwith, whom unbeaten David McCardle and Fran Mutter top-scored against.

At the top of division three, Fulford opend up a gap on Rowntree Park with Adam Magson and Jill McCreedy winning 26 games.

Sutton-on-Derwent missed the chance to move up to second after they were unable to beat York’s Neil Johnson and Margaret Whitehead and suffered a last-gasp loss by just six.

Top-scorers Alex Gurnell and Chris Oldfield finished with an 11-1 to earn Wilberfoss a win at Cliffe.

In division four, Appleton Roebuck overcame hosts Poppleton, as Geoff Bullock and Ruth Jones just outscored their teammates.

Copmanthorpe’s Johnny Kay and Amanada Robson won 27 in their win at Dunnington.

The division five leaders are Tollerton following their win against York, led by unbeaten Josh Hunt and Ed Hope, but then lost at Stillington before bouncing back with a defeat of Cawood as Tim Madgwick and Liz Burdett starred.

Wigginton enjoyed back-to-back division six wins.

Adam Houghton and Caz Mackender won 25 games to secure the points against Poppleton.

David Lloyd’s Tony and Fiona White won 30 games as their team overcame Cliffe, while Wilberfoss’ unbeaten James Hunt and Jess Tebbutt guided them to success against Sutton.

In division seven, David Latimer and Nicky Johns won 30 games for leaders New Earswick to defeat Tollerton.

Nearest rivals Heworth fielded a much-changed line-up and narrowly beat Copmanthorpe thanks to top-scoring Andy Cuttill and Monica Haritakis.

David Lloyd are the new division nine table-toppers after wins against previous leaders Wigginton and Dunnington with Tony and Fiona White matching the 30 games won by second pair Phil Rigby and Debbie Holman.

Fulford eased past Appleton Roebuck, as Mark Cook and Sue Watson won 30 games, just ahead of Hayden Marshall and Pam Mason.

In division ten, Stamford Bridge are closing in on the title with wins against Fulford.

Finlay Burbridge and Natalie Muir claimed 33 games and Brett Carter and Kim Lees 30.

Rufforth dented opponents Sutton-upon-Derwent's chances with a hefty win and 27 games from Matt Crawshaw and Fran Keighley, just one less than those claimed by Simon Detheridge and Vicky Wrigley.