The final round of fixtures in this seasons Pilmoor Evening Cricket League brought wins for the first divisions top three and defeats for the bottom three, and a as a result, Thirsk and Sheriff Hutton Bridge finished in joint top place and will play off at Sessay for the 2014 championship.

Clifton Alliance, who have placed the accent on youth this season, finish in bottom place and will play in the second division next season, and they will be replaced by Acomb, who have narrowly edged out Easingwold to finish as second division champions.

Thirsk confirmed their place as at least joint leaders when they overcame a strong challenge from visiting Helperby. Dan Spink top scored with 47 as Helperby made 117 for 6, Harry Consett having the best return for Thirsk in claiming 4 for 32. Thirsk's response was not without its problems and they lost wickets at regular intervals with Luis Rees-Hughes taking 2 for 26, but Stuart Christon and James Wilkinson each contributed 30 and Thirsk ran out winners 121 for 7.

Sheriff Hutton Bridge took on Newburgh, who were also in need of points to make sure of their divisional status. Bridge batted first and the efforts of Mark Fisher (39), Danny Kiernan (28) and Shaun Harland (43) took them to 136 for 3.

Newburgh never got to grips in their response and although S Speck made 36, they closed adrift on 92 for 8 with Jonny Eleanor taking 3 for 9 for the hosts, who therefore confirmed their place at the joint top of the table whilst Newburgh were left to sweat on the outcome at Clifton.

Sessay went into their fixture at Alne knowing that only defeat for the leading two would allow them to retain the title they won a year ago, whilst Alne themselves were not mathematically certain of preserving their place in the top division.

Alne batted first and Richard Henley's 52 and 38 from Chris Beaumont took them to a competitive 135 for 7, Liam Ormston (2 for 12) and Chris Spence (2 for 34) having the best returns for Sessay. Stuart Peirse (47) and Nick Thorne (39) led the Sessay reply with Toby Stirke (2 for 21) and Sean Foulds (2 for 22) keeping Alne in the hunt before Sessay took the points at 138 for 7.

Sheriff Hutton have enjoyed a good first seasoning division one and confirmed a top half finish with a win at Clifton Alliance, which condemned the hosts to bottom spot and relegation. Sheriff batted first and an unbeaten 89 from Nick Schofield helped them to 151 for 4. Clifton made a spirited reply, with Josh Bean making 43 not out and Chris Elliot 35, but Tony Hull claimed 3 for 14 and the Alliance response closed short on 128 for 6.

Acomb needed a win from their final fixture to make sure that they were not overtaken in their quest for the second division title. This duly came in convincing style with victory over Civil Service. Joe Dale (51 ret), Martin Pepper (50 ret) and Matt Dale (45 not out) took them to 182 for 1, well out of their opponents reach as Civil Service closed on 128 for 5 withWill Phelps making 37 and P Scott 26 not out whilst A Sanderson took 2 for 19 for Acomb.

Easingwold won their final fixture at neighbours Crayke. Luke Ramsay provided the bulk of their 100 for 4 in making 52(ret), and Crayke replied with59 for 8, Peter Carr making 35 but lacking support as C Scurr returned 6 for 10 for Easingwold.

Huby signed off with a win when they entertained Raskelf. Tom Piercy (52 ret), Max Lord with 34 not out and Arran Kirkbride with 20 saw them to 152 for 5. Raskelf struggled in reply, and although Harry Ellis made 22, they closed on 72 for 9 with Ollie Tanner-Smith (2 for 11), Tom Piercy (2 for 3), Sean Dixon (2 for 19) and Darren Howell (2 for 10) doing the damage.