STOCKTON & Hopgrove and North Cave will contest the final of the Guy Mitchell Cup at Acomb on Sunday, August 17 after comfortable semi-final victories.

New recruit Lloyd Marshall made an instant impact for Stockton with 6-30 against York Vale League second division side Stillingfleet who collapsed from 61-1 after 17 overs to 86 all out. Dan Fairlough applied the early pressure with figures of 6-5-7-1 on a difficult wicket.

Stockton didn’t fine batting particularly easy either, winning by five wickets with Dave Kerrison making 30.

Charlie Cockin was in sparkling form for North Cave, caught behind two short of a century, after striking two sixes and a dozen boundaries against Kelfield. Simon Cooke maintained the momentum with an unbeaten 33 as Cave posted 208-8. Craig Lawson was the pick of the Kelfield attack with 3-29.

Kelfield were bowled out for 146, John Buttle (4-34) and James Windeatt (3-25) starring for Cave while Neil Atkinson hit a rapid 31 for Kelfield.

Bishopthorpe II booked a slot in the final of the Scothern Construction Cup final by crushing division three rivals Hemingbrough by 158 runs. They will now face Acomb at Hemingbrough on Sunday, August 10 with silverware up for grabs.

A powerful batting performance saw the Bishops amass 237-8 with Colin Markham (64), Mark Ford (47no from 28 balls) and Jamie Blackburn (45) leading the way. Markham was dropped three times, the first occasion when he had only scored six, and spent some of his innings using a runner.

Andy Rowley took 3-40 for beleagured Hemingbrough whose batsmen were given no respite by teenager Alex Bindloss’s early two-wicket burst. Charlie Featherstone then took 5-34, including Hemingbrough skipper Leon Howard (32) and Jamie Blackburn 3-8 as Hemingbrough folded for 79.

Bishopthorpe’s first team will tackle Ovington in the final of the HPH Cup at Clifton Alliance on Sunday.

It promises to be a mouth-watering prospect between two of the first division’s heavyweights. The match starts at 2pm and the umpires are John Oswald and John Littlewood.

Charles Walker, a partner with sponsors HPH, will present the trophy.