UNIVERSITY 'A' retained their division one status after defeating second division runners-up Shepherds 'A' in a thrilling York & District Table Tennis League play-off match.

Andy Fletcher won two points for Shepherds, including an excellent victory over Agoston Hoffmann, but it was Isaac Beevor who led the way for the students, not dropping a game in an unbeaten performance.

Richard Crowther beat Geoff Leafe in a last-game decider as York RI 'A' beat York RI 'J' to lift the Shepherd Trophy.

RI 'J' took a 3-1 lead, but they were pegged back to 3-3 by RI 'A'. The next two were tied to set up the decider.

The man of the match was Mikey Arnold, who won two and a half points for the losers, while Crowther led the way for the winners with two wins.

The Machell Trophy final was also tied at 3-3 before Lewis McCarthy and Ivan Guilliat took the next two for York RI 'F' to take the title 5-3 against Bootham 'D'.

McCarthy was the star man, winning all three of his matches for the winners, while Dave Robinson contributed two wins for Bootham 'D'.

The trophies were presented by Steve Tindall, of sponsors Northern Powergrid.

Meanwhile, Coneysthorpe won the Yorkshire Seniors Club competition in Hull.

The Ryedale side defeated Leeds 6-3 and Dewsbury 5-4, before they beat Hull 5-4 in a pulsating final.

Martin Lowe won seven out of his nine sets, with the two he lost both going to five games.

Ashley Hodgson won five from nine, and 15-year-old James Rule won four from nine.