THE season ended with a feast of knockout finals for New Earswick Indoor Bowls Club.

Brain Gray, Bill Chittock and Pat Walker got off to a flying start in the Any Triples at the Huntington Road venue and ran out 23-12 winners over Andrew Fothergill, Guy Borthwick and Tim Axe.

The mixed pairing of Ralph Tiplady and Pat Lancaster were awarded a walkover win against Mel Lancaster and Sue Todd, while in the new Australian pairs, Dave Sykes and Gary Jones outgunned Sally and Alastair Domville 36-14.

In the ladies pairs, Margaret Moss and Pat Walker built up an early lead and were never headed, beating Margaret Pearson and Jenny Philpott 23-10.

It was a similar pattern in the men's pairs with Graham Bell and Joe Barker beating Dave Sykes and Pat Inwood 23-6.

The any two wood pairs was a closer affair with Barry Johnson and Ralph Tiplady going level pegging with Gary Stockton and Colin Ellis at 7-7 at eight ends before dropping back to trail 11-15 at 18 ends.

Two twos on the next two ends brought them level again at 15-15 after 20 ends, but Johnson and Tiplady got a single on the last end to win 16-15.

The men's plate saw a surprise winner. Andrew Berry trailed Bill Waldie 9-8 after ten ends, but a run of five winning ends set him up for a 21-16 victory.

The handicap singles was won by Gary Jones (scr), who beat Eric Moon (+5) 22-12.

In the ladies singles final, the lead changed hands five times before Jane Stockton retained her title, beating Sally Domville 21-16.

In a see-saw battle the men’s singles between Anthony Scruton and Kevin Liddell was tied 9-9 at ten ends and 14-14 at 18 ends.

Over the next three ends the lead changed hands three times with Liddell leading 19-16, but a three and a two saw Scruton take the title 21-19.

The Good Friday Triples event saw ten teams battle it out for the John Smith's Trophy.

It looked like a walkover with Edna West, Ian Rodgers and Jenny Watson storming out of the blocks with a +13 score in the first round and stretching that to +17 after four rounds.

But in a final showdown the fourth-placed team of Ray Bowman, Jean Clemmet and Judith Manclark (+2) made it a 22-point swing to claim the title with a +13 score.

West's team managed to hold onto second place with +6, one shot ahead of Brian Hutton, Paul Twissell and Peter Dew (+5). Chris Coates, Brian Harton and Chris McPherson slipped from second to fourth (+4).

The Easter Sunday Pairs drew a full house of 16 teams competing for the John Goodhall Memorial Trophy, based on the Australian pairs format.

Split into two groups, after two sessions each group had two unbeaten teams who seemed to be the likely candidates for the play-off positions.

In the final group session, Vic Thompson and Iris Lockwood kept their 100 per cent record in group 'B', but in group 'A' Barry Johnson and Muriel Thompson remained unbeaten. With five points and +21, they leapfrogged the teams above them to reach the final.

In the final, Johnson and Tomlinson finished up 11-4 victors.

The third/fourth placings were between unbeaten Dave Clayden and Betty Lambert and Mel Lancaster and Stephen Corner, with Clayden and Lambert winning 5-3.

Four generations of the Goodhall family presented the prizes and trophy, with sister and club member Liz Jerrum joined by daughters Jean Pinkney and Sheila Cooper, granddaughter Lisa Hall and great granddaughter Grace Hall.