MALTON 'A' took a major step towards regaining the York Conservative Clubs' Carlsberg UK Snooker League championship with a 5-2 victory over Acomb 'A'.

Richard Lillie and Roland Cox moved Acomb ahead after Lee Taylor won the first game for Malton, who last won the title two years ago.

Roger Ward (black ball), Steve Beal, Dominic Spiteri and Phil Hart completed the turnaround for the leaders.

Fulford 'A' received a blow to their hopes when they went down 4-3 to Bootham 'B', who went 3-1 ahead through Jamie Robinson (25 break), Ian Robinson and Paul Scorfield (30 break), against a reply by Glen Mountain.

James Lee (33 break) and Sam Wass levelled, but Lionel Barnes secured Bootham's victory, which left Malton six points clear and needing only one point from their final match against Fulford 'A' to take the title.

In a rearranged match, Heworth 'A' beat Bootham 'B' 4-3 with Gary Dougas, Jordan Worobec (35 break), Mark Winskill and Nick Dyson deciding the win, while Ian Robinson, Barnes and Paul Powell won for Bootham 'B'.

In their second match, Heworth 'A' hammered their 'B' team 6-1 as Worobec, Adam Scaife (32 break), Winskill, James Kilmartin, Neil Wood (66 break) and Steve Burdett triumphed after Andi Ireland had won the first.

Bootham 'A's dismal run continued with a 5-2 defeat by Acomb 'B', who went 3-1 ahead with successes by John Ashwell, Jeff Winter (37 break) and Kevin Ventress against a reply by John Darley.

Stuart Martel scored Bootham's second point but Chris Nicholson and Andy Stone completed Acomb's victory.

In another rearranged match, Acomb 'A' thrashed Fulford 'B' 6-1.

Lillie and Mick Borg opened for Acomb, but Andy Hurley stopped the rot. Andy Wade, Nick Marchant, Keith Thornhill and Paul Holmes completed the scoreline.

Paul Scorfield, who has completed his fixtures, and Simon Weatherill are joint leaders of the Worthington player of the year competition with 12 wins in 15 games.

Malton's Taylor continues to lead in the Pasema Paving highest break contest with his 85 clearance, but Wood moved into second place with his 66 break.

* Heworth 'A' and Acomb 'A' won their team cup semi-finals and will meet in the final at Fulford on Wednesday, April 23, following the annual presentations, which start at 7.30pm.