Coneysthorpe ‘A’ champions of York & District Table Tennis League

Coneysthorpe  ‘A’ champions of York & District Table Tennis League

Coneysthorpe ‘A’ champions of York & District Table Tennis League

First published in Sport

CONEYSTHORPE ‘A’ are champions of the York & District Table Tennis League for the fifth successive year.

Martin Lowe, Ashley Hodgson and Joel Wright led them to a 10-0 demolition of Bootham ‘A’ which was enough to secure the crown. York RI ‘A’ finished second after thrashing their ‘C’ team 9-1, and Coneysthorpe ‘B’ clinched third place with a 9-1 victory over York RI ‘B’.

Martin Hood, Alfie Potter and Mick Kenyon have played to a consistently high standard over the whole season and their Holgate ‘B’ side were confirmed as winners of division two following a 9-1 triumph over Shepherds ‘B’.

Nathan Taylor and Andy Fletcher starred as Shepherds ‘A’ secured the promotion play-off slot following an 8-2 victory over Bootham ‘D’.

Rich Harrison was in top form for Bootham ‘C’ and his treble was key in an 8-2 victory against Holgate ‘C’. Graeme Hood played well to pick up two sets for the losers.

Shepherds ‘C’ derailed a depleted Tramways team 7-3, while York RI ‘D’ smashed Shepherds ‘D’ 9-1 thanks to maximums for Pat Swindell and Luke Blackburn. Bootham ‘B’ beat a two-man York RI ‘E’ 7-3, although Sam Imbo was unbeaten for the losers.

In division three, University ‘B’ are now promoted but Thornton-le-Clay kept alive their title bid with a 9-1 demolition of BT ‘A’, Alan Balmforth and Neil Lynch unbeaten. Jan Suchecki was in top form for Bootham ‘E’ in a 7-3 triumph over relegated Shepherds ‘E’, for whom Steve Webster played well to pick up two sets. Holgate ‘D’ beat an under-strength Bootham ‘F’ 7-3 thanks to a brace from Dan Hickey, while Ivan Guilliat and Dom Ainger helped York RI ‘F’ to a 7-3 victory over Burnholme ‘A’.

Holgate ‘E’ moved into the division four promotion zone as Pete Waring and Tom Lines starred in a 9-1 thrashing of York RI ‘I’, while Jason Chinnian and Russ Barton were unbeaten for Bootham ‘G’ as they defeated Wigginton & Haxby by the same margin. A treble from Steve Taylor helped under-strength Crescent ‘G’ to salvage a draw against York RI ‘J’.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree