Wigginton Grasshoppers beat Tadcaster Magnets 2-0 in Reserve Cup

Tom Jackson

Tom Jackson

First published in Sport
Last updated

WIGGINTON Grasshoppers beat Tadcaster Magnets 2-0 in the York Minster Engineering Football League Reserve Cup.

Tom Jackson bagged both goals for ’Hoppers, the first of which was a tremendous volley from 18 yards.

Dringhouses beat Haxby United 4-1 to close to within seven points of reserve ‘A’ leaders Dunnington.

The ’Houses scorers were Wayne Carter, Liam Robertson, Sam Ripley-Kitson and an own goal. Nathan Green replied for Haxby.

Old Malton St Mary’s hit three goals in the first ten minutes en route to a 4-3 win at Huntington Rovers. Dean Nuttall hit a hat-trick and Ben Lealman also netted for Saints, while Lewis Musgrave, Chris Johnson and Daniel Shepherd responded for Rovers.

Fulford United’s 3-0 defeat of Riccall in reserve ‘B’ confirmed Tadcaster Magnets as champions.

Fulford’s goals all came in the first half, Lee Richardson bagging a brace and Ryan Horner also scored.

Excellent goalkeeping from Tim Owen preserved the clean sheet.

Malton & Norton moved up to third as a hat-trick from Si Reeves and a Steve Hoggard strike propelled them to a 4-1 win over Aviva. Jim Allerton notched for the away side.

Thorpe completed their reserve ‘C’ campaign with a 4-0 win over Hemingbrough. The win leaves Brooklyn needing to secure three points from their remaining four games to be champions.

Ben Rawson scored the only goal as Cliffe beat Rufforth in reserve ‘D’.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree