LEADERS Fulford ‘A’ surrendered their unbeaten record as they lost 4-3 to Acomb ‘B’ in the York Conservative Clubs’ Carlsberg UK Snooker League.

The Acomb reverse was the table- topping side’s second defeat of the week, following their 4-3 Kutters & Shannons Team Cup exit to Bootham after they had led the tie 3-1.

Jeff Winter (22 break), Brian Henry and captain Steve Rodgers moved Acomb 3-1 ahead in the league match after Andy Marshall had opened for Fulford.

Simon England reduced the arrears, but Chris Nicholson (22 break) secured the win before Sam Wass gained Fulford’s third point.

Bootham ‘A’ were unable to build on their dramatic cup win as they lost 4-3 to lowly Heworth ‘B’.

Andi Ireland won the first frame but Bootham’s Rob Barron levelled. Then Steve Carroll, with a black ball foul win, and John Sherlock gave Heworth a 3-1 lead.

Barry Rankin (50 break) and Mark Darley levelled at 3-3, but Brian Birch came from behind with an 18 break to decide the match for Heworth, only their second win of the season.

Heworth ‘A’ continued to pressure the leading pack with a 4-3 success against Bootham ‘B’.

Bootham went 3-2 ahead with wins for Ian Robinson, Paul Scorfield and Paul Mahoney against replies by Nick Dyson and Jordan Worobec (black ball). Clive Whyte (black ball) and Steve Burdett completed the victory.

Fulford ‘A’ hold on to top spot, four points ahead of Malton ‘A’, who have a match in hand.

Dyson and Malton’s Simon Weatherill are joint leaders of the Worthington player of the year competition, with eight wins in nine games. Fulford’s England and Marshall boast eight wins in ten matches.

Malton’s Lee Taylor still leads the Pasema Paving highest break contest with a run of 66.