Snooker: Unbeaten feat for Fulford ‘A’

York Press: Snooker: Unbeaten feat for Fulford ‘A’ Snooker: Unbeaten feat for Fulford ‘A’

LEADERS Fulford ‘A’ finished the first half of the York Conservative Clubs’ Carlsberg UK Snooker League campaign undefeated after a 5-2 success over Malton ‘A’.

The feat was last achieved by Heworth ‘A’ in the 2002/3 season, when there were only eight teams in the league rather than the current nine.

Jamie Husband (22 break), James Lee, Simon England and Andy Marshall secured Fulford’s win before Simon Weatherill (38 break) stopped the run. Sam Wass added Fulford’s fifth point before Dan Pawson defeated Glen Mountain.

Bootham ‘A’ kept up the pressure with a 4-3 win over their bogey team, Fulford ‘B’.

The teams shared the first four frames, with Rob Barron and John Darley winning for Bootham against replies by Andy Ogley and Andy Hurley.

Colin Robinson, who gained the point when Arthur Pegden cleared from the green but went in-off after potting the black, and Barry Rankin sealed the win.

Nigel Smith came good by sinking the last three colours to snatch a third point for Fulford.

Bootham ‘A’ are joint second with Malton ‘A’, both three points adrift heading into the Christmas and New Year break.

Acomb ‘A’ moved up a place to sixth by defeating Heworth ‘A’, while recording only their third win of the season.

Jason Milner moved Heworth ahead after a win by team-mate Kevin Gall was erased by Richard Lillie.

Nick Marchant, Tim Lister and Phil Carlton won the match for Acomb and then James Kilmartin gained Heworth’s third point.

Acomb ‘B’ came from behind to beat bottom club Heworth ‘B’, who have yet to win a match.

Steve Rodgers levelled for Acomb at 3-3 after wins for Heworth’s Andy Ireland, Wayne Pullan (20 break) and Steve Carroll had eclipsed victories for Kevin Ventress and Ian Gillies.

Andy Stone clinched the match 4-3 for Acomb ‘B’, who remain second from bottom.

Malton’s Weatherill has moved clear in the Worthington player of the year competition with seven wins in eight matches.

Four players – Heworth’s Nick Dyson, Malton’s Phil Hart, Heworth’s Ireland and Bootham’s Jamie Robinson – are joint second with six wins in seven games.

There are six players in joint sixth with six wins in eight games.

Malton’s Lee Taylor continues to lead the way in the Pasema Paving highest break contest with his 66 break. Heworth’s Gall is second with a run of 65.


Comments are closed on this article.


Get Adobe Flash player
About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree