Leaders Acomb ‘A’ opened up a four-point gap as they returned to winning ways with a 5-2 victory over Bootham ‘B’ in the York Conservative Clubs’ Carlsberg UK Snooker League.

The teams were level at 2-2 after wins by Richard Lillie (40 break) and Jeff Keen for Acomb and replies, both on the black, by Matt Smith and Paul Scorfield. Keith Thornhill, Phil Carlton and Adrian Barraclough completed Acomb’s success.

Kevin Ventress opened the scoring for Acomb ‘B’ with a surprising win against over-50s champion Bob (RA) Smith.

However, Fulford ‘B’ secured the match as Andy Hurley, Andy Warriner, John Adcock and Arthur Pegden made it 4-1. Jeff Winter halted the run but Jim Rollinson made it 5-2 for Fulford to move them back into second place with a game in hand.

Bootham ‘A’ went 2-0 up against Heworth ‘A’ through Rob Barron and Tim Fillingham.

Heworth went 3-2 ahead as Nick Dyson, Kevin Gall and James Kilmartin (46 bk) responded only for Simon Robinson to level. Clive Whyte (20 bk) made it 4-3 for Heworth by clearing to pink after Stuart Martel missed his chance on the final red.

Heworth ‘A’ moved up to third place, a further point adrift, but also have a game in hand on the leaders.

Andy Stone (A) is now a clear leader in the Worthington “Player/Year” competition with 11 wins in 13 games but Bob (RA) Smith has nine wins in 11 games and a game in hand.

Simon Weatherill (M) still heads the list in the Pasema Paving “Highest Break” contest with his 98 break.

In only his first full season, since starting to play billiards last year, Bootham’s Matt Smith claimed the York Conservative Clubs’ “Hair Flicks” Hylton Foster Billiards trophy by defeating Gary Rogers (H) in the final at Acomb.

Smith (+65 h/c) played in his usual robust attacking style which relied on pots but still outscored Rogers (-165 h/c) and reached 100 while Rogers was still in the 60’s of his h/cap having only built a 24 break.

Smith raced away to lead 151 (-77) and despite a late rally by Rogers who scored 50 points in three visits, including a 29 break, Smith won with Rogers 27 points off clearing his -165 h/cap.

The trophy and awards were presented by sponsor David Appleby.