TRAMWAYS moved into second place in division one of the York John Smith’s Ladies Darts League as they knocked leaders Cueball ‘B’ off track.

With the teams entering the pairs all-square, Carole Layne joined Tramways captain Sue Lowery to gain the edge, and then colleagues Ruth Norman and Karen Alton sealed victory.

Burnholme and Magnet were tied at 3-3 entering the pairs. Tracey Watkinson and Sandra Bruce edged Magnet in front, but their joy was shortlived as Marj Pearson and Caroline Whittaker set up the decider.

Burnholme’s Carole Salkeld and Emma Lamb then sealed the win, with Lamb closing 60.

Jayne Flynn and Mavis Barker clinched victory for Flag against visitors Slipper.

Cueball ‘A’ had Faye Hawksby, Joan Hunter and Sharon Rishworth setting up their victory over Walnut Tree. A clean sweep in the pairs propelled them to a resounding 9-2 triumph, with Di Moreland and Carole Perrett Tree’s point scorers.

Bootham Club increased their hold on top spot in division two as visitors Turpin could only muster two points, Pam Bielby being involved in both.

Anthea Jamieson, Julie Stable, Chris Lamb, Pat Jamieson and Donna Lynes secured victory for Edinburgh within the singles against Burton WMC.

Sandra Pallister mustered the only reply, before Angie Blackmore and Dawn Barker doubled Burton’s tally.

Acomb ‘A’ entered the pairs with a 4-2 advantage against their ‘B’ team thanks to Sarah Rankeillor, Kate Rankeillor, Lisa Benton and Rose Gray.

In the pairs, the Rankeillors teamed up and Benton was joined by Sammy Endersby to secure an 8-3 win.

Clifton captain Karen Hodgson was joined by Lynn Richford as they secured victory by the meanest margin against visitors Severus ‘A’.

Shepherd ‘B’ could not field a team against their ‘A’ team.

Division three leaders Jubilee were brushed aside by second-placed Shoulder ‘A’, who moved within three points of the top with a clean sweep in the pairs en route to a 9-2 win.

Liz Jackson led the way for Woolpack as they came away from Leeman with an 8-3 result.