LEADERS Acomb ‘A’ returned to winning ways with a 4-3 victory over Heworth ‘A’ in the York Conservative Clubs’ Carlsberg UK Snooker League.

Nick Marchant, Keith Thornhill and Richard Lillie set the scene, only for Neil Wood to reply with a 61 break. Paul Holmes secured Acomb’s win before Steve Burdett and Clive Whyte pulled two back.

Fulford ‘B’ moved to within a point of the summit with a 5-2 victory over bottom side Bootham ‘A’.

Fulford’s John Adcock levelled after Rob Barron had won the first game. Tim Fillingham moved Bootham ahead as he negated Andy Hurley’s 33 break with a run of 27. Fulford then took the last four frames through Arthur Pegden, Jim Rollinson (33 break), Nigel Smith and Bob Smith (22 break).

Acomb ‘A’ held on to fifth place despite a 4-3 loss to Heworth ‘B’. The teams shared the first four frames with wins for Heworth by Roland Cox and Chris Thompson and replies by Kevin Ventress and Jeff Winter (22 break). Mark Calpin sealed the win before Andy Stone won the last.

Lowly Fulford ‘A’ surprised Malton ‘A’ by storming into a 4-1 lead en route to a 4-3 win.

Sam Wass, Tom Wilson, Glen Mountain, who defeated Simon Weatherill, and Alan Reed were Fulford’s winners, with Lee Taylor replying thanks to a 28 break.

Phil Hart (31 break) and Darren Dawson, who held Tim Lister (28 break), won the last two.