THE draw for the HPH York Vale Cricket League’s President’s Cup has been remade after a fixture shake-up, writes Martin Jarred.

Clubs in division five have opted to play more league games rather than enter the cup competition.

There are seven clubs in division five this year and, at a recent meeting with members of the management committee, agreed to play each other three times, rather than twice, so playing 18 league fixtures instead of 12.

The original cup dates of May 25 and June 22 for division five clubs will now become league fixtures.

The division five season will be extended by a week to Saturday, September 14, to enable to clubs to fit in the 18th and final league game of the season.

The President’s Cup will comprise division four sides only and the new draw is: Stamford Bridge v Hemingbrough II, Stockton & Hopgrove II v Heworth II, Burton Salmon v Askham Bryan II, Dunnington v Bishopthorpe II.

These matches will be played on Saturday, May 25 with the semi-finals on Saturday, June 22 and the final on Sunday, August 18.

As a result of the re-draw the plate competition for the Graham Headley Memorial Cup will not go ahead this summer.

Meanwhile, Askham Bryan have appointed Dave Sladen as their first team skipper.