HEWORTH ‘B’ still hold pole position in the York Conservative Clubs’ Carlsberg UK Snooker League despite a 5-2 defeat by title rivals Acomb ‘A’.

Acomb were hoping to reclaim the top spot at Heworth, but they are still one point behind.

Roland Cox, who won a black ball frame, and Andy Proud gave Heworth a promising start, but Acomb then reeled off the remaining frames through Richard Lillie, Paul Holmes, on the black, Keith Thornhill, Phil Carlton and Adrian Barraclough to produce a 5-2 victory.

Bootham ‘B’ held on to fourth place in the table despite going down 4-3 to fifth-placed Fulford ‘B’.

John Adcock, Bob Smith and Andy Ogley put Fulford in a commanding position, only for Ray Stamp, Paul Mahoney and Paul Scorfield, with a 61 clearance, to level.

Arthur Pegden claimed the deciding frame to put Fulford only one point behind Bootham.

Hosts Fulford ‘A’ surprised Bootham ‘A’ by going 4-0 ahead through Mike Bailey, George Hogg, who had a 43 break, Sam Wass and Tim Lister, who conjured a 74 clearance.

Colin Robinson ground out a result to stop to run, then Simon Robinson and new recruit Stuart Martel made the score a more respectable 4-3.

However, Fulford had done enough to push Bootham into bottom place in the table by virtue of having won more matches even though the sides are level on points.

Simon Weatherill kicked off Malton ‘A’s match against Acomb ‘B’ with a break of 98, the season’s highest so far.

Ian Gillies levelled, but Roger Ward (21, 36 breaks), Lee Taylor (25 and 32 breaks) and Andrew Sherry decided the match before Steve Rodgers and Andy Stone reduced the deficit.

Heworth’s Steve Burdett, Bootham’s Matt Smith and Fulford’s Bob Smith are joint leaders of the Worthington Player of the Year competition with five wins each from their six games.