Snooker: Victorious Heworth leapfrog Acomb to head championship frame

First published in Sport by

HEWORTH ‘B’ took advantage of Acomb ‘A’s free week to replace them as leaders of the York Conservative Clubs Carlsberg UK Snooker League.

Heworth were 5-2 victors over Fulford ‘A’, who were a player short.

Tim Lister (26 break) and Sam Wass gave Fulford a promising start, but Andy Proud, Mark Calpin, Chris Thompson, Brian Birch, who held off James Lee (34 break) and a walk-over by Keith Watkinson sealed the win.

Heworth ‘A’ held on to third place despite a shock 4-3 defeat by Acomb ‘B’.

Lee Hanson won the first game only for Adam Scaife and Mark Winskill (38 break) to move Heworth ahead.

Steve Rodgers beat Neil Wood to level and Nick Goodacre beat Clive Whyte (23 break) to restore Acomb’s lead.

Steve Burdett levelled but Andy Stone earned Acomb a 4-3 victory, beating Jason Milner in the last frame.

Malton ‘A’ scraped home 4-3 against Fulford ‘B’ to continue their recovery from a terrible start. Fulford’s Andy Ogley defeated Simon Weatherill in the opening frame, but Andrew Sherry, Lee Taylor and Roger Ward put Malton 3-1 ahead.

John Adcock and Arthur Pegden (20, 22 breaks) levelled, but Phil Hart (23 break) secured Malton’s win.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree