Nigel Adams has won Selby & Ainsty for the Conservatives.

The seat is new election territory created following the re-drawing of constituency boundaries.

Mr Adams, who was marked out from the start as the clear favourite to win, polled 25,562 votes, nearly twice as many as Labour's Jan Marshall, who got 13,297.

Lib Dem Tom Holvey got 9,180, Darren Haley of UKIP got 1,635, Duncan Lorriman of the BNP got 1,377, and Graham Michael Glynn of the English Democrats polled 677.