THE Boundary Commission has released its final recommendations for revised council boundaries in York.

Under the plans the total number of city councillors will remain the same - 47 - but over 21 wards instead of the current 22, with each councillor representing an average of 3,500 people.

Recommendations published last November had to be re-thought when officials realised they were working from inaccurate data, and the fresh plans now put the entire University of York campus in the Hull Road ward.

Other changes include the creation of a new Copmanthorpe ward, and the merger of Osbaldwick and Derwent wards and Fulford and Heslington.

The Clifton and Rural West wards will drop from three councillors to two, while Guildhall will increase from two to three.