Kate Atkinson's wartime novel Life After Life wins Costa book prize

Kate Atkinson

Kate Atkinson

First published in
Last updated

A YORK author’s eighth novel has scooped a major book prize.

Kate Atkinson, whose Case Histories detective tale was adapted into a TV series starring Jason Isaacs, claimed the Costa novel award for Life After Life, which is set in wartime Britain.

The accolade comes 20 years after Kate’s debut novel, Behind The Scenes At The Museum, was named overall winner of the same prize and won the book of the year title.

The Costa awards are divided into five categories and the winners of each are eligible for the book of the year award, which will be announced later this month.

If Kate wins book of the year again, she will become the first female author to do so twice and only the third writer to achieve the fear, the others being Seamus Heaney and Ted Hughes.

The winners of each category also receive £5,000 and the overall winner gets a further £30,000.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree