Oyebanjo wins hat-trick of trophies at awards night

York City full-back Lanre Oyebanjo

York City full-back Lanre Oyebanjo

First published in Sport
Last updated

OUT-OF-CONTRACT right-back Lanre Oyebanjo was the prize guy at York City's Player of the Year Awards Night.

Oyebanjo was named Players' Player of the Year and also got the vote of City's supporters when he was presented with the Billy Fenton Memorial Player of the Year Trophy at the event, hosted by York Racecourse.

The former Republic of Ireland under-21 international went on to win the Harrogate Minstermen Player of the Year honour as well.

Keith Lowe was a double winner on the night, receiving The Press and Pocklington Minstermen's Player of the Year awards, along with Wes Fletcher, who was recognised as the season's top scorer and Goal of the Season winner for his header during the 4-2 home victory against Portsmouth.

Teenage left-back Ben Davies, meanwhile, was named Young Player of the Year, Michael Coulson picked up the Most Outstanding Moment for the free kick that secured a play-off place against Newport and Tom Allan collected the Community Award.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree