STANDARDS are on the up according to York Minster Engineering League secretary Matthew Ward, as the season draws to a close for football in the city.

Old Malton St Mary’s were crowned premier division champions beating Riccall United to the title by just two points while Huntington Rovers and Wigginton Grasshoppers won the York FA Senior Cup and Senior League Cup respectively after beating first division opposition in the semi finals of their cup successes.

The League Reserve Cup even provided a reserve 'C' team in the final proving that football in the city is rife of talent and that next season’s premier division should be an even tighter affair as two strong teams enter York’s elite amateur football.

“Church Fenton White Horse and Tadcaster Magnets are two very good sides that should do well in the premier division next season," said Ward.

"It is good for the committee that the lower league clubs can do well in the cups, and it is pleasing that there is a spread of the trophies as no one has run away with them.”

However, that could contradict the way that division four played out this year. Kirbymoorside won the league with a 100 percent record to claim the title whereas runners up South Milford’s only two defeats of the season were to the league champions.

In division three, goal difference separated the top two as Sporting Knavesmire claimed the title from Ouseburn United who both won 17 out 20 matches, losing just one apiece.

Division two was a tight race for the title as F1 Racing pipped Cliffe by two points. Second-placed Cliffe had chance to win the title but lost their final league game in a 4-0 defeat to Thorpe United.

Tadcaster Magnets eased to the division one title, finishing nine points clear of a second-placed Church Fenton WH that took Senior FA Cup winners Huntington Rovers to a penalty shoot-out in their semi-final match, backing up the words of Ward.

Also, it is the league secretary’s first year in the job and is pleased to be on a good committee at the York League.

He added: “To be honest, I am still finding my feet but it is good.

"When John Jefferies (league chairman) said that I only had to sit in one meeting a month, I think that was the biggest understatement of the year. It is pretty full on but I have to thank Sue Bryce for all the help she has given me.”

Despite the standard of play improving throughout the league, there is an expected re-shuffling of the divisions when the League committee meet for the annual meeting on Wednesday, June 4.

2013/2014 division awards

Premier division

Top scorer – 34 Chris Dyson (Huntington Rovers)

Most man of the match awards – 8 Cameron Sanderson (York RI) and Robert Chipps (Dunnington)

Golden glove – average concession of 0.52 goals per match (minimum of ten matches): Toby Wells (Old Malton St. Mary’s)

Div 1

Top scorer – 25 Kevin Butler (Hamilton Panthers)

Most man of the match awards – 6 Matt Hildon (Church Fenton White Horse) and Will Richmond (Tockwith)

Golden glove – average 0.50 goals per match: Jordan Tinker (Tadcaster Magnets)

Div 2

Top scorer – 23 George Trifan (F1 Racing)

Most man of the match awards – 6 Adam Tiffany and Robert Clark (F1 Racing); Craig Campbell and Nathan Patrick (Thorpe United)

Golden glove – average 1.07 Chris Calvert (Thorpe United)

Div 3

Top scorer – 29 Chris Simpson (Ouseburn United)

Most Man of the Match Awards – 6 Jason Nattrass (Bishop Wilton)

Golden glove average 0.93 Richard Thompson (Sporting Knavesmire)

Div 4

Top scorer – 40 Dan Marshall (Jorvik Blades/Huntington FC)

Most man of the match awards – 5 Dan Marshall (Jorvik Blades/Huntington FC)

Golden glove – average 1.45 Joe Isherwood (Selby Town)

Roll of honour

Premier division: champions Old Malton St Mary’s, runners-up Riccall United

Div 1: champions Tadcaster Magnets, runners-up Church Fenton White Horse

Div 2: champions F1 Racing, runners-up Cliffe

Div 3: champions Sporting Knavesmire, runners-up Ouseburn United

Div 4: champions Kirkbymoorside, runners-up South Milford